21st May 2021

Annual Council Meeting elects Mayor

Bradford on Avon’s newly elected Town Council met on Tuesday for the Annual Council Meeting. This was the first meeting held in person since the pandemic began, with members of the public limited to 50 in St Margaret’s Hall, following the expiry of temporary government legislation permitting online council meetings.

At the meeting, outgoing Mayor Cllr Simon McNeill-Ritchie handed over the reigns to newly elected Mayor of Bradford on Avon Cllr Sarah Gibson, with Cllr Katie Vigar elected as Deputy Mayor.

Following the meeting Cllr Sarah Gibson said of her appointment:

“I would like to thank my fellow councillors for the honour of electing me mayor of our wonderful town, and to the residents of Bradford on Avon for depositing their trust in all twelve of us, to work with them over the next 4 years on many exciting projects and the challenges that we face addressing the climate emergency.  

A huge thank you to the outgoing Mayor, Cllr. Simon McNeill Ritchie, for steering us through the last difficult year.  I would also like to thank former councillors, Cllr. Brown, Cllr. Lomax. Cllr. Lynch, Cllr. Newton, Cllr. Roberts and Cllr. Taylor. for their work over the last four years.   

I am looking forward to my greater involvement, as we concentrate our efforts for the benefit of the whole town, as one team.” 

With Cllr Katie Vigar adding:

“Congratulations to Sarah on becoming Mayor for the year ahead, and to all councillors on being elected to serve our town for the next four years.

I am grateful for the opportunity to support the town council team and engage with residents in the role of Deputy Mayor.

In this initial year of the council’s term of office we are keen to broaden the ways in which we engage with the community so that everyone who wishes can contribute to the decision-making process.”

At the meeting, Councillors also selected Chairs for the following committees:

Highways and Transport Committee – Tim Trimble

Environment and Planning Committee – Alex Kay

Community and Recreation Committee – Jennie Parker

Town Development Committee – Jack Vittles

Resources Committee – Sam Blackwell

Vice Chairs and final confirmation of committee members will be decided at a Councillor symposium day in June.

To find out more about Town Council Committees visit: https://bradfordonavontowncouncil.gov.uk/council-meetings/

Thanks to Wiltshire Music Centre for their help in loaning equipment for the meeting to allow for social distancing.